Board of Directors

Harry Quarls

Executive Chairman

Mr. Quarls was appointed Executive Chairman of Penn Virginia Corporation, effective August 15, 2017.  Mr. Quarls has served as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Penn Virginia Corporation since September 2016 and is currently a Managing Director at Global Infrastructure Partners. He also serves as a director of Rosehill Resources, Inc., Fairway Resources LLC, Opal Resources LLC, US Oil Sands Corporation and SH 130 Concessions LLC. He is Chairman of the Board of Directors of US Oil Sands Corporation and SH 130 Concessions LLC. Mr. Quarls previously served as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Trident Resources Corp. and Woodbine Holdings LLC, and he also served as a Managing Director and Practice Leader for Global Energy at Booz & Co., a leading international management consulting firm, and as a member of Booz & Co.’s Board of Directors. Mr. Quarls earned an M.B.A. degree from Stanford University and also holds ScM. and B.S. degrees, both in chemical engineering, from M.I.T. and Tulane University, respectively.

John A. Brooks

President, Chief Executive Officer and Director

John Brooks was promoted to President and Chief Executive Officer and appointed as a director of Penn Virginia Corporation, effective August 15, 2017. Mr. Brooks had previously served in several management roles for Penn Virginia, including as Interim Principal Executive Officer of Penn Virginia Corporation from September 2016 to August 2017, as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer from January 2014 to August 2017, as Penn Virginia Corporation’s Executive Vice President, Operations from February 2013 to January 2014, Senior Vice President from February 2012 to February 2013 and Vice President from May 2008 to February 2012 and as Penn Virginia Oil & Gas Corporation’s Vice President and Regional Manager from October 2007 to February 2012, Operations Manager from January 2005 to October 2007 and Drilling Manager from February 2002 to January 2005. Mr. Brooks received his B.S. in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin in 1984.

David Geenberg


Mr. Geenberg is Co-Head of US Investment Team  of Strategic Value Partners, LLC (“SVP”).  Mr. Geenberg joined SVP in 2009, and since such time, he has led the firm’s investment efforts in the infrastructure, energy, and power sectors in North America, serving on the steering committees of more than a dozen significant restructurings. Previously, Mr. Geenberg worked at Goldman, Sachs & Co., most recently in the Infrastructure Investment Group and Principal Investment Area focused on energy and transportation infrastructure businesses, and, prior to that, in the investment bank’s Natural Resources Group. Mr. Geenberg received a B.A. in Economics summa cum laude from Dartmouth College in 2005.

Michael Hanna


Mr. Hanna is a Partner and Portfolio Manager of KLS Diversified Asset Management (“KLS”). Mr. Hanna joined KLS in July 2015 and has 16 years of investment banking and portfolio management experience.  Prior to joining KLS, Mr. Hanna was a Portfolio Manager and Head of Trading at BulwarkBay Investment Group, LLC, a firm he co-founded in 2011. Previously, he was a portfolio manager with Concordia Advisors LLC, where he co-managed the firm’s Distressed Debt Fund. Mr. Hanna joined Concordia in 2005. Prior to joining Concordia, he worked in the Leveraged Finance/Financial Sponsors and Global Corporate Investment Banking groups of RBC Capital Markets from 2004 to 2005 and Bank of America Merrill Lynch from 2001 to 2004. Mr. Hanna’s industry experience includes oil & gas, industrials, paper and forest products, insurance and financials, aerospace and energy. He is a member of the board of directors of Modular Space Corporation and Sensei, Inc. Mr. Hanna received a B.A. from the University of Michigan in 2001 and is a CFA Charter holder.

Darin G. Holderness


Darin G. Holderness, CPA, was the Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of Concho Resources until May 2016. Mr. Holderness has over 20 years of experience in the energy sector including nine years with KPMG LLP where his practice was focused in the energy industry and over 17 years in industry in ever increasing roles of responsibility including serving as Vice President and Controller of Pure Resources, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Basic Energy Services, Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer of Pioneer Natural Resources, and most recently as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Eagle Rock Energy Partners.

Mr. Holderness is a 1986 graduate of Boise State University with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Marc McCarthy


Marc McCarthy is a Senior Managing Director at Wexford Capital LP, an energy focused asset management firm, having joined them in 2008.  Marc currently serves as Chairman of Mammoth Energy Services and previously served as director of Coronado Midstream, LLC. and Energy Partners Corp. as Chairman from 2009-2014.

Previously, Mr. McCarthy worked in the Global Equity Research Department of Bear Stearns & Co., Inc. and was responsible for coverage of the international oil and gas sector. Mr. McCarthy joined Bear Stearns & Co. in 1997 and held various positions of increasing responsibility until his departure in June 2008, at which time he was a Senior Managing Director.

Mr. McCarthy is a Chartered Financial Analyst and received a B.A. in Economics from Tufts University.

Jerry R. Schuyler


Mr. Schuyler is currently Chairman of the Board of Gastar Exploration Inc. He served as Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Director of Laredo Petroleum, Inc. beginning in June 2007, was promoted to President and Chief Operating Officer in July 2008 and retired in July 2013. Mr. Schuyler served as an independent director for Yates Petroleum Corporation from December 2015 until the sale of the company in October 2016; independent director for Rosetta Resources Inc. from December 2013 until the company was sold in July 2015 and independent director for Gulf Coast Energy Resources, LLC from 2010 until the sale of the company in April 2015.

Mr. Schuyler holds a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering from Montana College of Mineral Science and Technology and attended several graduate business courses at the University of Houston.